Meggie Velasco Photography


Mike and Janelle
August 26, 2008, 7:35 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Ok, so thanks to hurricane Gustav, my vacation is in jeopardy.  Our prayer is that it hits Cuba, slows down, and bypasses my beloved Cayman Brac… THERE’S A HAMMOCK THERE CALLING ME!!!  It’s looking like I will not have a clean to do list, but it will at least make things better if I can get down there and forget about the list for a few days.  I also have a really awesome shoot planned that I’ve been looking forward to for months, so GO NORTH YOUNG GUSTAV.

I met Mike and Janelle at the Knoxville January bridal show. They were the last people to stop by and probably the ones that I talk to the longest.  We just hit it off right away.  I’m sure you could tell that from their e-session that we have a ton of fun.  Even though it was possibly one of the hottest days of the year and their wedding was outside, on a brick patio, in full sun, at 4 in the afternoon (I know you guys are tired of hearing about that, but blog stalkers have the right to know!) we still had a great time.  

 

Mike wrote Janelle a note that he wanted her to read after she got her dress on.  Janelle and her mom had to take turns reading it because they both kept crying.

They made the decision to see each other before.  It was great for them to have that opportunity to spend some time together before the craziness of the day came crashing in around them.  I asked them after it was all said and done if they thought it was the right decision, and they said absolutely YES.  I loved being able to spend the day together and go through everything together.  They also said that it didn’t take anything away from Janelle walking down the aisle.  Mike was still nervous and excited to see her and Janelle was just as excited to walk down to him.

 

I had just gone to see John Michael Cooper (Alt-F) in Atlanta and I was inspired to do something a little different.  This wasn’t what I was aiming for, but I still L O V E it!

This was actually their  1 year dating anniversary.  special!

 

 

 

 

 

In the middle of their vows the heat finally got to them, so her mom jumped up to their aid with their program fan.  

Since we finished all of the pictures before hand, we took off immediately after the ceremony to grab some of just them while the guests made their way into the AC

Leave it to me to find a stump in the middle of the woods right next to one of the most photographed spots at Whitestone.

 

 

I don’t remember what was said, but I’m pretty sure it was embarrassing for Mike.

 

Why, hello Mr. Benjamin!

And hello to you Ms….um…old lady with a hat.  Does anyone know what currency that is.

check out this light!  It’s scrumdidliumptious!

 

 

This was a sweet moment with Janelle and her Grandmother.

Alright, Best Man 101 class is in session.  What do you do with the keys to the getaway car after you’ve finished trashing it?  Or maybe I should say, what do you NOT do with the keys?  Anyone?  Anyone?  Whatever you do, DO NOT LOCK THEM IN THE CAR!!!!!!  After the minor key fiasco, Mike and Janelle took another car and made the best man drive theirs when the locksmith got it open.  So after trashing the car, he had to drive to Knoxville (a 45 minute drive).  

“I have 2 rings!”

 

 

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Hey! Just checking out what you’ve been up to lately. Feels like we haven’t talked in forever. FYI, that mysterious currency is SWEDISH (I would know, right?). Twenty krona is only about $2.50 so it doesn’t quite compare to the $100 bill. The lady on the front is a Nobel-prize-winning writer. The back of that bill is actually cuter and shows someone flying on the back of a goose.

Comment by nancy hellsten




Leave a Reply

