Meggie Velasco Photography


Rusty and Sarah
August 24, 2008, 11:26 pm
Filed under: Weddings

I am going on vacation on Thursday morning and I will have a clear to-do list!!!

 

Sarah and Rusty waltzed into my life by way of  Daniel and Laura Benner.  I’m so glad that they looked right past our first impressions because I completely flaked on our first meeting!  I never wrote it down in my calendar, but I was ready to go when they knocked on my door!  It’s a good thing that I was ready to go!  I just fell in love with them.  You will find a common theme in all of my weddings, I love my brides and grooms.  I don’t try to book every wedding that comes my way because they aren’t all supposed to be mine.  But Sarah and Rusty were supposed to  be mine.  Talk about an awesome couple.  I love being able to shoot a wedding like I’m a friend instead of someone who’s just been hired for the day.  I love being able to share in the celebration of marriage which I hold so dear.  Thank you Sarah and Rusty for letting me be your friend and for allowing me to celebrate with you!

 

If you want to check out Sarah’s Bridal session at The Bleak House, click HERE.

 

If you look closely, I made the pre-ceremony letter from Rusty to Sarah!

 

 

 

 

 

I told you in a couple of posts ago that this was a star studded event (to the Velasco household).  The first is Matt Wertz warming up on the guitar.

Yes, Sarah did take a potty break.  However, I staged this one because I want to put a canvas of something like this in my bathroom!!!  I think it’s funny!

I came around the corner as they were finishing a prayer with Sarah.  I’m so happy I was able to snatch this before it was over.

 

 

They had a bagpiper walk them out of the sanctuary after the ceremony.

 

 

Of course it decided to rain, so we took advantage of the scattered showers.

 

 

 

 

 

Here’s a little lesson to all you photographers out there.  Always remember that videographers can be your friends.. especially if they have a video light.  Take advantage of that extra light source that you don’t have to worry about syncing with your flash.  Just make sure that you don’t get in their shot too much…then they won’t want to be your friend!

 

This is Sarah and her dad.  She wasn’t, but it looks like she’s dancing on his feet.  I thought it was very sweet.

This is Andy Davis leading up the band at the reception.

 

This is courtesy of Matt Wertz.  

 

Other “Velasco Celebrities” included Dave Barnes which you can hear on my website (thanks Dave) and Chris Rice who used to do music at my church’s youth camp when I was in middle and high school (thanks Chris).  If there’s anyone else there with a web address who I didn’t see or don’t know, feel free to leave it in a comment and I’ll make sure to add it to the post so my blog stalkers can find you.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Just a quick note. I’m a friend of the bride’s mother. I have to tell you your pictures are stunning. I really loved her bridal shots. Very nice work.

Comment by Casey

Meggie Velasco does some of the most incredible work I have ever seen. Knoxville is very blessed to have her although I hear she’ll go anywhere for the right price. Great work, Meggie. gg

Comment by Gwen




Leave a Reply

