Meggie Velasco Photography


What’s going on?
January 31, 2008, 5:09 pm
Filed under: Meggie Updates, Velasco Happenings

Hey everyone!  I just wanted to take a little time to let you all know what’s going on in my personal life and business life.  We’ve just started down a really exciting cool looking road that, if all goes according to plan, is going to be a great trip.   I started training some girls a couple of weeks ago that are going to be pretty key in the business.  I can’t wait to introduce them all to you.  They all bring something different to the table and I can’t wait to get them in action.  Those of you who have sessions coming up soon will more than likely get to meet them because I’ll have them tag along.    I’m scheduled to have LASIK surgery next Wednesday!  Not many people know this, but my eyesight is pretty atrocious.  My prescription is  -9.25 in each eye.  As of now, contacts and glasses correct my vision so I can operate like everyone else.  However, who knows how long it will be before they don’t make my prescription anymore.  My parents gave me LASIK for christmas.  Well, they offered to pay for it, they didn’t actually perform the surgery!  Anyway, so I’m scheduled to go in on Wednesday and I’m completely terrified.  I wish I could be one of the ones that just goes in and can see 20/20 the next day.  Sadly, I’m going to have to have a recovery period of about a month till I have an idea what the world is going to look like through my new HD eyes.  Don’t think that I’m not freaked out by the new Jessica Alba getting new eyes movie either!  Talk about perfect timing!  Anyway, I would really appreciate y’alls prayers as I start this process.  Our prayer is that I will heal without any complications.  A speedy recovery is 2nd on our list of prayers, the “without complications” is the biggest part.  I think the biggest thing I’m scared of is that I’ve worn glasses since 2nd grade.  I don’t really know what it’s like to not have to depend on them.   10 days after my surgery, I’m going to the long awaited Love Affair workshop on Bald Head Island, NC.   It’s a workshop just for women.  I’m so excited to learn better ways to shoot and handle my business and juggle being a stay at home mom too.  I’ll come home in time to spend the day with my husband, Adam, on his birthday…THE BIG 30!  The day after that, I head to Asheville, NC for Corey McNabb’s Rockstar Workshop.  I’m going to learn how to make all of my bride’s feel like rockstars!  One of things I’m super excited about is being able to shoot at The Biltmore!  Corey’s going to be taking his show on the road soon.  If you’re interested in catching up with him, here’s the website to his rockstar road trip, hopefully he’s coming to a city near you! I’m home for a few weeks after the McWorkshop and then I’ll be taking it to Vegas for WPPI!  So there’s a lot going on in the Velasco household.  So if things get done a little slowly, I’m sorry, we’ll get it done eventually!   Happy end of the week everyone! 

 
6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Meggie, I’m one of your faithful blog stalkers. And this might sound creepy coming from my first comment, but we have something in common – our terrible vision. Like you, both of my eyes are at 9.25. You’ll do great! Several of my friends had Lasik surgery and have loved the results. Best of luck!

Comment by Jessica

hey meggie, i don’t know of anyone that is more frightful of eye ‘stuff.’ and i can’t believe i actually had lasik (you knew me after the surgery), but if i can make it, anyone can.
hey, i’ll be at wppi. let’s hook up at some point.

Comment by Dianna

I’ve prayed for you! God will have your eyes better than anything shortly!
One of these days, I’d love to go to a workshop with you! I want to do THE SECRET WORKSHOP!! How much fun!! I’d love to do the one on the beach…it’s sold out now!
Anyways. Good luck….and blessings!

Comment by Jessica

Matt has probably told you this, but he got Lasik back in ’04, and it’s changed his life! He had a couple of days of discomfort afterward, but he said the procedure itself is painless and easy peasy. You’ll do great!

Comment by Erin Browne

Good luck on Wednesday!! We’ll definately keep you in our prayers. I don’t know if I could have my eyes done… It took Danielle years to convince me I could survive sticking my finger in my eye to wear contacts. Of course now it’s 2nd nature.

Feel free to send all your clients my way during your recovery though. 😉 And keep us posted!

Comment by Wes Hope

Hey Lady! Good luck with the sugery and have a blast at all of those workshops….

Comment by Kara




Leave a Reply

