Meggie Velasco Photography


Mark and Emily – IN NEW YORK!
December 17, 2007, 3:15 am
Filed under: engagement

Last weekend I flew up to New York to visit with some of my friends.  While I was there, I figured that I might as well make the most of my time and the incredible cityscape and get in an engagement shoot.  So I called my friends Emily and Mark to see if they would be up for it.  We spent the entire day just playing around the city.  We would shoot for a little while, then take an hour long coffee break, shoot for a little longer, eat lunch for another hour, then shoot some more.  We had such a great time catching up and just playing!  I really wanted to get some New York landmarks.  You know, the areas that everyone recognizes.  Shoot, I want people to know that I’ve done an engagement shoot in New York!I was really inspired by the movie “Manhattan” by Woody Allen.  (if you haven’t seen it, it’s a good movie and really beautifully shot)  I wanted to shoot in Grand Central Station with the sun streaming through the windows, but that wasn’t going to happen since it was cloudy the entire day.  I’m not complaining though.  Towards the end of the day, it started snowing!  We were on our way to the 59th street bridge and it started to really come down.  I wanted to go back and shoot everything over again in the snow. img_5749.jpg img_5764.jpg I can’t decide.  Color? img_5805a.jpg  Or B&W?  Let me know what you think. img_5805.jpg  img_5852.jpg  img_5872.jpg img_5904.jpg img_5912.jpg  img_5948.jpg img_5965.jpg  img_5991.jpg img_6057.jpg img_6128.jpg img_6151.jpg img_6154.jpg img_6236.jpg img_6261.jpg Fun with traffic! img_6332.jpg     

14 Comments so far
Leave a comment

those are incredibly awesome!

i love my engagement pics, just because it’s us, but what i’d give for something like that! wow!!!

Comment by Jessica

Em and Mark are so cute!!! Love getting to see their pics. I personally like the color one in times square- if you care. Love all of them!!!

Comment by Ashley BB

I love the color version too. What a fun shot! The 2nd to last shot is such a beautiful, genuine moment…gorgeous capture!

Comment by K. Crafton

Absolutely terrific. I am totally jealous.
My fave is the second last with the snowflakes. what a couple!

Comment by MartinE

I’m Mark’s mom and also love the second to the last one best. Mostly because Mark has always been able to make all of us laugh like that. Beautiful pictures — thank you!

Comment by Lauri Allenbach

I smiled through them all. Thinking ahead to 6/7/08 and the excitement we are all feeling as the wedding approaches these pictures remind me vividly of the joy Emily and Mark find in their love together! Great pictures…to be looked back on in 50 years and treasured! Thanks for sharing!
Emily’s mom, Laurie

Comment by Laurie Serra

Wow- these are really beautiful. I love the one with the arches the best. What a fun way to spend a day in NYC.

Comment by Danna

i love the black and white!!

Comment by LAURA

WOW, WOW, WOW!!!! these are amazing!

Comment by grace

um, HELLO awesome pics. who needs museums in NYC when you have a camera??

Comment by Matt B

I’m Emily’s aunt–love the pictures especially the ones where they are laughing.

Comment by Donna H.

Oh my goodness! Awesome pictures–EVERY one of them! My husband is Ryan–cousin of Emily. Ever since he told me about this site, I have been addicted!! Your work is beautiful! We have twin babies that I would LOVE for you to photograph sometime. Thanks for sharing!

Comment by Jenny

These brought a little tear to my eye–they are wonderful now, and will grow to be even better as time goes by. Great work (but then you had great subjects!).

Comment by Nancy Bristow

[…] Kadie October 15, 2008, 2:37 pm Filed under: Uncategorized Emily and Mark were also in town during the big family weekend.  Emily is actually Michael’s twin sister. […]

Pingback by Kadie « Meggie Velasco Photography




Leave a Reply

