Meggie Velasco Photography


blackle
November 3, 2007, 4:45 am
Filed under: Misc

Did you guys know about Blackle? It’s google, except with a black screen. By using Blackle you can save 284,580.733 watt hours just because it’s a black screen instead of a white one. I’m currently typing my blog on a white screen and I’m not really sure the benefits of saving watt hours, but it sounds good. I try to do what I can to help save our planet. So I’ve started using it instead of the regular google. If any of you can fill us in on why it’s beneficial to save the watt hours, I would love to hear about it.

This past Monday and Tuesday I was in Nashville for a great workshop with The McLellan’s . They hosted the Shoot with Beckstead 2 day workshop. David Beckstead is one of the 10 best and most sought after wedding photographers in the world, and an all around great guy to know. I officially shot more pictures than I have EVER shot at one “event” in my whole life. I have to go back and re-edit my photos after our critique before I can post something.

I also went to the Chattanooga PUG (Pictage Users Group) last night hosted by my friends the Bambers. To see some pictures of all the fun folks we hung with, check out Rich Smith’s Blog .

MAN! I also have to post pictures of my little dragon on Halloween. I’m behind. I think that Noah’s cutting 4 more teeth and has been a bit of a pill lately. I haven’t had much time to work on any of my fun stuff. I’ll get you some new pictures soon, I promise!

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You could (can) totally steal the pics from our blog if you’d like to post them here! Sheesh!

And I didn’t know you did the McLellan workshop! How cool is that!? Thanks for talking about it on Thursday night! 😉

Comment by Rich Smith

Hey Dude,
I have some concern regarding your post. Basically my information is contradicting to your post. May be it is because of my lack of information.
You are saying that “It’s google, except
with a black screen” .. Is this 100% correct?
I think, A
search in Blackle does not necessarily return the same results EVRYTIME as a Google
search becuase Blackle uses customized Google search not Google search itslef (Here i mean 10% time when I say EVERYTIME. Means 90% time results may be same).

Comment by Jaydip Mehta

Google actually contacted me yesterday, not in regards to Blackle, just because they want me to advertise. Anyway, I asked the guy if he knew anything about it. He said that he knows the site and is unaware of any controversy regarding Blackle and he has actually used it. While we were talking, he went to the site and checked it out again and said that there’s a copyright to google at the bottom. Another company couldn’t copyright to google, or they wouldn’t want to because it’s their product. Something that is different about it is that there isn’t ANY advertising. So you may not get the same search results because you don’t have people paying for keywords, which is why they were contacting me. Apparently I can pay to have the key phrase “Knoxville Wedding Photographer” attached to my website. I would be the ONLY person with that tag and therefor the first person to come up anytime someone searched with that phrase. So, I guess you’re not getting that with Blackle and therefor not the exact same results. If anyone else has any more information regarding Google or Blackle, please chime in.

Comment by meggievelasco

The Carbon Neutral Search Engine also offers black background search using Google Custom Search but offsets a minimum of 100g of CO2 per search.

Comment by Energy Saver

There are around 17 different versions of “black google” online. The best one I’ve found is http://www.cleanblack.com. Cleanblack is the only version that allows you to change the text colors of the google search results. Try it yourself by going to http://www.cleanblack.com/theme/

Comment by earth017




Leave a Reply

