Meggie Velasco Photography


Barefoot and Breaking Free
September 4, 2007, 5:26 pm
Filed under: Misc

Every year, my mom and I go on a Christian Women’s Retreat to Cayman Brac. We just got back in the states last night after a full day of traveling. We had to get up at 4 am! We left to go down there last Thursday. Well, everyone BUT me that is. On the way to the Atlanta airport I realized I had left my passport sitting in my jewelry box back in Knoxville! We were on the phone with everyone we could think of to get my passport to me either in the Atlanta or Tampa airport. We got a pilot to agree to hand carry it with him from Knoxville to Atlanta and I would meet him at the gate and then take a later flight to Tampa. Well, after joyous celebration, they called to tell us that the flight had been cancelled! Every other flight wouldn’t get it to me in time to make my connecting flight to Grand Cayman. So I had to spend the night with some friends and have Adam FedEx it to me so I could make the same flight the next day. When I got to the airport, I wasn’t in the system. Instead of changing my flight, Cayman Air had cancelled me all together! Luckily, the managing agent knew who I was and the situation and was able to reschedule everything and I got there that night.
I am so far behind from being out of town and dealing with the travel nightmare. However, I have some pictures from the first night at the retreat. Our speaker was Renee Swope with Proverbs 31 Ministries.

img_6382.jpg

img_6399.jpg

And Babbie Mason was the woman who lead our worship time. She was SO animated, it was very easy to get great shots of her.

img_6408.jpg

img_6324.jpg

img_6329.jpg

img_6441.jpg

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Love your pics! thanks for sharing!

Comment by Carol Boston

WOW!! What an adventure~ Sorry you had such troubles getting there! Looks like it was totally worth it!! Can’t wait to see more pics!! 🙂

Comment by Tiffany

Meggie~~
Just found your card in my purse that I carried to the Cayman’s last year….SO glad I took the time to check out your website and see the awesome talent that you exhibit here! I love these photos of our sessions… I would even love to purchase a copy of the one with Babbie singing since that is ME and my sister in the front row!!! Love it– it makes me really look forward to the next one.
See you there, I hope!
Lisa Hudgins

Comment by Lisa Hudgins




Leave a Reply

